Channeling My Anxiety to The Healthy Socket, You Should Try Too!

A Little Bit of Everything
3 min readMar 7, 2023

--

Growing up with anxiety is overwhelming and challenging. It can manifest in different ways, such as excessive worry, fear, and nervousness interfering with my daily activities.

Sometimes, it may feel like a constant sense of unease or dread; it comes and goes in waves. It can also lead to physical symptoms such as rapid heartbeat, sweating, trembling, and difficulty breathing.

Living with anxiety is isolating, as it can be difficult to explain or express to others. It also impacts a lot to my self-esteem and confidence, I always have self-doubt and avoidance of new situations or experiences.

This realization dawned on me: perhaps I won’t be able to find a quick fix to cure my anxiety, and it might even be something I must live with for the rest of my life. But then I had an idea — what if I could channel my anxious energy into something productive and healthy?

I recently discovered Glennon Doyle’s podcast and found her discussion on anxiety to be particularly relatable. One thing that stood out to me was her emphasis on building genuine connections through vulnerable conversations rooted in love. This approach helped distract her mind from anxious thoughts and channel her energy towards something positive. As someone who has struggled with anxiety and overthinking, I found this idea of using the connection as a coping mechanism to be very powerful.

Therefore, I told myself, “What if I Create a Podcast?”

Inspired by Glennon’s podcast on anxiety, I realized that creating a podcast could be a positive and productive way to channel my own anxiety. Not only can it help distract the mind, but it can also provide a platform for sharing experiences with others who may be going through similar struggles. It can also build connections and create a supportive community.

So, I decided to give it a try!

I shared the idea with a friend, and to my surprise, she was interested in being my co-host. Together, we worked on developing the concept for the podcast, from choosing a name to creating a branding kit. Collaborating on a personal project like this was an exciting and empowering experience.

And boom boom boom…!!

My new podcast, “I Was Thinking About This,” is finally released!

https://linktr.ee/iwasthinkingaboutthis

Join me as I aim to make listeners feel less alone by discussing various topics related to our daily life and sharing insights.

In this podcast, I’ll be exploring a range of subjects related to our daily life & sharing some insights. Our conversations will mix Bahasa Indonesia and English, making them accessible to a wider audience.

We’re now available on both Spotify and Apple Podcasts, so don’t forget to subscribe and join us on this exciting journey!

We can’t wait to connect with all of you and build a supportive community through “I Was Thinking About This.”

This podcast would be one of my coping mechanisms to channel my thoughts into something healthy and useful for everyone. And I hope to turn my anxious energy into something positive and beneficial for all our listeners.

Thank you, Glennon, for inspiring me to take this step, and thank you, myself, for striving to be my best self every day. You’re amazing!

I write mostly for myself, sharing some of it with you :).

Take care until then

Xx

--

--